Always Carry a Camera!

Around Furzton lake, Milton Keynes. Early Autumn 2014.

’tis a duck. Not that you needed me to tell you that!

I’m lucky enough to live close to some nice lakes which I periodically visit with my camera. I quite like this photo and I’d like to be able to say that was taken with my DSLR but it wasn’t. It was not a very nice day, pretty awful in fact, and my DSLR isn’t waterproof so I went out armed with only my compact wrapped in a plastic bag. If anything, it shows the value of always having a camera with you, even if it is only a compact. Modern ones are very good actually and some have remarkable zoom lenses. This was taken with a Canon Powershot SX220.

Getting slightly lower would have made for a better picture but it wasn’t possible without digging a hole or getting in the water. Neither option appealed to me…sometimes we just have to accept the best we can get 🙂

As far as the compact camera goes, it wasn’t waterproof either so I used a freezer bag to protect it. Put the camera inside the bag, wrapped the opening around the lens casing and secured it with a rubber band. All the controls were easy enough to get at through the thin plastic. This only works for cameras that do their metering through the lens, of course, and it helps if the camera has a decently large live display so you don’t have to peer through a viewfinder shrouded in plastic.

What this means, of course, is that there’s no excuse for missing a photo opportunity…

Any thoughts to share?