Brrr…it’s chilly out there!

Managed to convince myself that I needed some exercise. The lake beckoned so off I went. It was surprisingly warm in the sun but the wind cut right through me. As confirmation of the low temperature, you can see birds standing on the ice. Admittedly, not an amazing sight in Alaska but quite uncommon in Milton Keynes!

Icy Furzton Lake I didn’t do a lot with this photograph. The camera was handheld, using a nearby tree for extra stability. I just increased the saturation a little at home on the PC. On reflection, I wish I’d used a graduated filter to darken the sky down slightly.

Now that the young have fledged, the geese (on land middle right) have become surprisingly tolerant of humans, almost friendly in fact. It’s a great time to get pictures of large birds without being scolded or even attacked! I walked right through them on the way around the lake, they didn’t react at all.

Any thoughts to share?